Go
Applicable for Existing Student/Customers Only
› 
› 
› 
Legal Age to Sell or Serve Alcohol

The Legal Age to Sell or Serve Alcohol in Wisconsin

Approved by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC)
Only

$16.00

 $25.00

Across the nation, the legal drinking age is 21 years of age. The age limit for serving or selling alcohol, though, can be different in Wisconsin from what you'd find in Maine. If selling or serving alcohol is in your future, read on to find out how old you need to be to get started.

Learn it online with SellerServer

Age Limit to Drink, Sell & Serve Alcohol

In Wisconsin, the legal drinking age is 21. But, you can start legally serving, pouring, or selling alcohol at the age of 18. On the other hand, business owners need to be diligent in emphasizing that no one under the age of 21 working for that establishment is allowed to drink an alcoholic beverage unless they are accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or spouse over the age of 21.

When Can Alcohol Be Sold?

The type of liquor license you hold will limit when and where you can sell alcohol. If your customers will be consuming alcohol at your place of business, you may generally serve between the hours of 6:00 a.m. – 2:00 a.m. Monday through Friday, and 6:00 a.m. – 2:30 a.m. Saturday and Sunday.

If your business sells alcohol for off-premises consumption, you will adhere to different hours. Wine and liquor sales cut off at 9:00 p.m. and reopen at 6:00 a.m., while beer sales can continue until 12:00 a.m. and start again at 6:00 a.m.

Who Should Take Responsible Beverage Server Training?

For alcohol vendors, maintaining your liquor license is an essential part of your business operations. That means you are expected to meet state licensing requirements and adhere to alcohol beverage service and sale laws — such as avoiding sale to minors or intoxicated patrons.

For Wisconsin businesses, the best way to protect your precious liquor license is to ensure that every employee who will be selling or serving alcohol has completed the state-mandated Responsible Beverage Server Training Course. The course offered by Seller Server, for example, covers invaluable topics that all sellers or servers of alcohol need to know, including:

  • How to properly check IDs and spot fakes
  • Signs of intoxication and penalties for over-serving
  • Valuable intervention and mediation skills
Now Alcohol Certification is Fast And Simple

Wisconsin Dram Shop Law

All businesses must require their employees to take a Responsible Beverage Server Training Course before they can sell or serve alcohol, like the one offered by Seller Server. Fulfilling this state mandate will mitigate an establishment's liability. This means if one of your employees serves an alcoholic beverage to an unaccompanied minor, for example, you may face minimal or no charges. The server is responsible for knowing the law, and if you've taken steps to educate them, then the liability falls on their shoulders.