Go
Applicable for Existing Student/Customers Only
› 
› 
›  
Beverage Training Requirements

Utah Beverage Training Requirements

Approved by the Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH)
Only

$25.00

Many people do not fully appreciate the huge amount of responsibility that comes with selling or serving alcohol to the public. Sure, employees have to check IDs and know how to spot fake ones… but do you know all of the other things they are responsible for?

In Utah, servers and businesses alike can be held liable for any number of incidents that may occur either on or off the premises of the establishments. Drunk driving accidents, alcohol poisoning, violent fights with other patrons, proxy sales to underage customers… all of these things have the potential to be traced back to the business and the server who sold that alcohol to the person in question. To prevent these things from happening (and to provide businesses with a liability shield), the state set forth a training requirement for anyone working at a seller/server establishment.

Learn it online with SellerServer

Alcohol Server Training Requirements

It is a criminal offense in Utah to:

  • Sell or supply alcohol to anyone who is already intoxicated
  • Provide alcohol to anyone under the legal drinking age (21 years)

Therefore, the Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH) had mandated that employees who handle alcohol service and/or sales must complete a state-certified training course within 30 days of hire. This certification is good for a period of 5 years, after which the employee will need to retake the course to renew.

About the Utah Alcoholic Beverage Training Course

There are 2 alcohol training courses offered for Utah seller/server employees:

  • The On-Premises course is 3 hours long, and is designed for staff that will be selling or serving alcohol that is to be consumed on the premises of the business, such as restaurants and bars.
  • The Off-Premises course is 1 hour long, and is specifically for establishments that sell alcohol which is to be consumed off the grounds (such as a grocery store, liquor store, market, or special event).

These courses teach a variety of state-certified lessons, including proper methods for checking identification and spotting fake ones, alcohol as a drug and its physical effects, how to recognize habitual or problem drinkers, and how to refuse service and/or deal with unruly customers. All of these skills are essential in order to keep both the employee and the customer safe at all times.

Now Alcohol Certification is Fast And Simple

Why is Training Mandatory?

The state of Utah takes the issues of alcohol and substance abuse quite seriously. In an effort to prevent DUIs, alcohol-related accidents, and a rise in alcohol-related death and disease, the DSAMH put the responsibility for prevention directly into the hands of businesses and employees. If a staff member is fully trained to recognize signs of danger, and they have the tools necessary to deal with and reverse the situation, the customer will leave the establishment safely, and the business will not incur any liability for an accident. If a dangerous incident was still to occur, the business would be shielded from responsibility, as they maintained compliance with state law by ensuring their staff was trained. While the employee may still be charged with, for example, serving to a minor, the business will not be in danger of losing its liquor license.

Training also gives employees a way to prevent harm from befalling themselves and other guests. By learning safe intervention techniques, and being able to recognize signs of intoxication, servers can ensure that they do not provide alcohol to someone who should not drink it, and can prevent other customers and employees from being affected as well.