Go
Applicable for Existing Student/Customers Only
› 
› 
Alcohol Awareness Training Requirements

Nevada Alcohol Awareness Training Requirements

Approved by the Nevada Commission on Postsecondary Education (CPE)
Only

$25.00

As anyone knows who is familiar with the beverage service industry, there are many dangers involved with selling and/or serving alcohol for public consumption. Underage drinking, over-intoxication, drinking and driving… all of these things could be traced back to the establishment that served the drinks, and that business could end up paying hefty fines or even losing its liquor license. This is why it's vital that all employees receive the training they need — so that everyone is equipped with the skills and tools to make sure none of these scenarios ever happen at their place of business.

Learn it online with SellerServer

Nevada Alcohol Awareness Training

In the state of Nevada, all servers who wish to work with alcohol service and sales must first complete a state-approved Alcohol Awareness Training program, which consists of an education course targeted at teaching the laws, skills, and responsibilities that all servers should know before ever handling alcohol on the job.

Employees who complete an alcohol awareness beverage training program will go through a state-specified curriculum that must be at least 2 hours long. The course covers such topics as:

  • The effects of alcohol on the body and mind
  • Ways to identify intoxicated customers
  • How to refuse service to a patron
  • State and local laws concerning the sale and service of alcohol in Nevada
  • How to prevent hazards in the workplace, including interventions and security methods
  • Spotting minors or underage customers
  • How to properly inspect IDs and spot fake IDs

If an establishment does not comply with this state-mandated program, they will be guilty of a civil infraction, punishable by a fine of $500 – $5000.

The Hidden Dangers

Completion of this training program is not limited just to wait staff or bartenders. All management personnel, supervisors, and business owners must also take this course. By having every single person at the establishment fully-trained, the chances of emergencies or hazards greatly decrease.

Employees will know what to look for on a piece of ID, thereby preventing the service of minors. They will also be able to identify habitual drinkers or intoxicated customers. If a staff member was to serve to an already-intoxicated patron, both the employee and the business could be held liable for any physical harm which may befall the customer, or that the customer may inflict upon another person. Even if the incident was to happen off the premises — a DUI car accident, for example — the establishment is held responsible for supplying alcohol to someone who should not have had any more to drink.

Now Alcohol Certification is Fast And Simple

Keep Your Business Protected

One of the biggest benefits of alcohol training to a licensed establishment is the liability prevention shield that they will be protected under. If any of the above incidents were to occur, the establishment is no longer in danger of facing fines or losing its liquor license. It is able to claim that it complied with state requirements and required its employees to abide by all safe serving practices. So while the staff member in question could still face charges, the business itself would be safe.