Go
Applicable for Existing Student/Customers Only

Alcohol Rules and Regulations in Indiana

Alcohol Rules and Regulations in Indiana

Many people take for granted the act of going out for some food and a couple drinks. While it may seem as if a restaurant or bar may open up quickly wherever they want, and serve whatever they want, businesses looking to obtain a beer and wine or liquor license in Indiana will need to understand the rules and regulations that come along with it.

The Indiana Alcohol and Tobacco Commission has strict guidelines that must be met, and an easy way to learn them is to take an IN alcohol server training course. By enrolling in a responsible beverage server training , IN businesses safeguard themselves against the many risks posed when serving alcohol to the public.

Why Take a Training Course?

While many topics surrounding alcohol sales may seem intuitive, there are a lot of intricate rules and procedures that servers and business owners must always know, every second on the job. By taking IN alcohol seller server training, the staff can get acquainted with the laws and regulations that are specific and unique to their state. Plus, taking these courses shields a business from liability should an incident occur on or off the premises.

While an individual server may still be held responsible, the business itself will be able to claim that they required its employees to learn the rules to serve by, and thus negate any liability on the part of the business. This is a huge reason why many restaurants and bars are requiring that their employees and new hires undergo responsible beverage server training in IN.

What is an Alcoholic Beverage?

A liquid beverage is determined to be alcoholic if it contains .5% or more alcohol by volume. Those drinks which do not meet these criteria are not deemed to be legally alcoholic, and therefore are not regulated by Indiana law.

Determining Proper Age

One of the biggest and most important rules in the Indiana service industry is never serving to underage patrons. Anyone thought to be under 26 years old must be checked for proof of age. Servers, bartenders or security should ask for identification, which can include a driver’s license, passport, state-issued ID card, or other form of government ID.

Failure to stop underage drinking could result in the loss of the business’ IN alcohol server license.

Allowed Times of Sale and Service

The legal hours for serving or selling alcohol in Indiana are 7:00 a.m. to 3:00 a.m., Sunday through Saturday. If the business is a restaurant or bar, the customers may be permitted to continue drinking for 30 minutes after the cut-off time, but only if the beverage was served during the allowed time window.

Alcoholic beverages may NOT be sold or served on Christmas Day.

Food Must be Present

Any establishment which intends to serve alcoholic beverages on the premises must also have food for at least 25 people available at all times.

The minimum food service options required are hot soups and sandwiches, coffee, milk, and soft drinks.

Minors Can Work but Not Serve

Anyone under the age of 21 may work in a seller/server establishment, but they may not handle or serve alcohol themselves to the customers. Staff that is at least 19 years old are authorized to act as cashiers or ring up transactions involving alcohol, but they still may not serve it until they are of legal age.

When minors are on staff, an employee at least 21 years old must always be present to supervise and act responsible for the minor.