Go
Applicable for Existing Student/Customers Only

Frequently
Asked Questions

About LCC SellerServer.com Training

Approved by the Illinois Liquor Control Commission (LCC)
Online course
starting at

$14.90

 $25.00

What is a BASSET certification course?
Known as the Beverage Alcohol Sellers and Servers Education and Training (BASSET) program, this course is used for educational, training and certification purposes. It‘s also used to help sellers and servers better understand the laws of selling and serving alcoholic beverages in the state of Illinois. And it aids in the overall safety of your establishment and its customers.
Is completing a BASSET course necessary to sell and serve alcohol in Illinois?
BASSET training and certification is not required to sell and serve alcohol in Illinois, but completion of the course is still mandatory in a few of the state's municipalities. To find out if you have to complete the program where you work, ask your employer or check your local rules and regulations. Keep in mind, even though some municipalities may not ask you to complete a BASSET program, a lot of businesses still require you to have BASSET training.

"Effective July 1, 2015, all alcohol servers and bouncers employed by Cook County bars and restaurants are required to take and complete a BASSET course."

Who should take this course? Am I eligible?
This course is designed for employees who sell or serve alcohol in the state of Illinois, including bartenders, bar backs, servers, managers, and liquor store clerks. Remember, anyone can take the course but you must be at least 18 years old to serve, and 21 years old to sell alcohol.
What's the difference between "On Premise" and "Off Premise" BASSET certification?

Establishments that serve alcohol by the glass or bottle - meant for consumption on premises at places like restaurants, bars, hotels, nightclubs, private parties and outdoor festivals - will require "On Premise" BASSET Certification.

Establishments that serve alcohol by the bottle, case or single can, which are then taken off store premises (like liquor stores, grocery stores, gas stations and convenience stores) and consumed elsewhere, will require "Off Premise" BASSET Certification.

Is your course approved?
Yes! Our online and DVD certification courses are fully approved by the Illinois Liquor Control Commission to certify that you're able to conduct alcohol sales and service within a licensed establishment.
How much does the course cost and how long is my certification good for?
Pricing information can be found on this page, and certification lasts for 3 years from the date you complete the course. However, some municipalities may require different re-certification guidelines. Be sure to check with the Illinois Liquor Control Commission to find out what the right timeline is for your area.
How long will this course take to complete? What will I learn?

This course meets Illinois state requirements and takes a little over five hours to complete. But you don't have to complete the course all at once. Log in, log out, and finish the course at your leisure within 6 months from the date of purchase!

This class will help you learn how to sell and serve alcohol the right way:

  • Train and practice responsible alcohol service
  • Prevent DUIs and alcohol-related fatalities
  • Avoid alcohol sales to minors and discourage underage drinking
  • Build safer business practices where alcohol is served and sold
  • Educate yourself and others on the laws specific to alcohol service
Do I have to take a final exam? How many chances do I get to pass?
To fully complete the course, you will take a final exam consisting of 20 multiple-choice questions and must pass with a score of 70% or higher. If you fail the test the first time, don't worry! You get 2 attempts for a passing score before you're required to retake the course.
How long does it take to get my certificate once I pass?
Once you pass the test, a temporary certificate is available to download and print from the website. After that it takes up to 30 days for the State of Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC) to mail out your BASSET card. If you ever misplace your certificate, simply log in, go to the end of the course and reprint it.
What happens if I lose my BASSET card?
If you ever lose your BASSET card, contact the ILCC right away. You will be charged a fee of $15 for a replacement card.